Frequently asked questions

For Exam Officer FAQs visit the new Exam Officer zone here.

How do I order record of assessment books and badges?

VTCT record of assessment books are ordered on the VTCT website through the LInx2 portal (LInx2Product). This area is only available to VTCT approved centres and you will be forwarded a password once your approval is in place. VTCT learner badges can be ordered in the same way. All VTCT record of assessment books can also be downloaded from the Qualifications section of the website for reference and to enable lesson planning.

VTCT has also re-introduced an Assessor badge as shown below. This can be worn by any qualified assessor who delivers VTCT qualifications. The badge costs £5.00 and can be ordered by telephoning VTCT Customer Support on +44 (0) 2380 684500.    


 How do I become a VTCT approved centre?

Complete the application pack on the 'Become a Centre' page of this website and submit to:


How long does it take to become an approved centre?

Where your centre requires an approval visit, your application will be processed within 30 working days from payment (This timeframe may vary depending on the centre's availablity for a visit). Where your centre is eligible for desktop approval, your application will be processed within 15 working days from payment. More information can be found on the 'Become a Centre' page of this website.


How do I arrange a preliminary Regional Business Development Manager (RBDM) visit?

If you telephone VTCT Customer Support on +44 (0) 23 8068 4500 or email they will be happy to put you in touch with your local RBDM.  


What are VTCT’s fees?

All fees can be found in our Fees & Qualifications document, which is available on the qualifications page.


Who do I contact about EQA rotation and contact details? who will be more than happy to help with your query.


How do I apply for further approval?
Further approval for a new suite of qualifications: complete the Additional Sector Application -  Centre Recognition Forms

Further approval for a new site: complete the Additional Site Application stating the associated centre - Centre Recognition Forms

Send the completed forms to:


How do I request confirmation/evidence of my centre approval?
Please email the request to stating your centre name, VTCT centre number and who to send the confirmation to (name and email).

How do I register learners?
Visit the Registration section of the Exam Officer zone here for details. 


Apprenticeship packages are registered via Linx2Exchange.


How do I resolve a query with a registration file? giving details – please try to include learner ID


How do I amend an incorrect registration, transfer or withdraw a registration? giving details – please try to include learner ID


How can I apply for reasonable adjustments or special considerations?

Visit the Registration section of the Exam Officer zone here for details.


How do I certificate my learners?

Visit the Certification section of the Exam Officer zone here for details.


For unit only (single unit) certificates  use Linx2Exchange or import to Linx2Online.  


When will I receive the certificates?
Valid certificate claims will be processed and the certificates dispatched within 5 working days (10 working days between mid-July and mid-August), or within 20 working days where External Quality Assurer approval is required.

How do I resolve a query with a certification claim? giving details – please try to include learner ID


How do I amend an incorrectly claimed certificate?

An incorrectly claimed certificate must be returned with explanatory letter


What types of Qualifications does VTCT offer? 

  • National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs)
    NVQs are qualifications that are usually completed in the workplace. One of the benefits of a NVQ is that they test your ability to actually do the job, which makes them suitable to take whilst in work. A key part of your course will include proving that you can do certain work-related tasks. During the course you will be assessed through your portfolio, where you build evidence of the work you have done, and by observation, where an assessor watches you work and checks that you can perform the necessary tasks.
  • Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs)
    SVQ are the Scottish equivalent of NVQ’s
  • Vocationally Related Qualifications (VRQs)
    VRQs offer different levels which focus on the development of the underlying principals and practical skills required in varying industries. They are designed to deliver a high level of occupational capability and progression into employment. The flexible structures ensure they will appeal to individuals in full time or part time education, as well as continuous professional development.
  • Essential Skills
    These are available in  Wales. They cover the key areas of communication, numeracy, information and communication technology, problem solving and working with others, which are required in almost every workplace.
  • Functional Skills
    Functional Skills are qualifications in English, maths and ICT that support you to develop the practical skills you need for life, education and the workplace.

What level qualification do I need?

Qualifications on the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) and National Qualifications Framework (NQF) are levelled from Entry to Level 8. VTCT offers vocational qualifications up to level 5 and the level you require will depend on your previous education and experience and what you are trying to achieve. The diagram below is produced by Ofqual as a guide to the levels available.


Will I get a job after studying for a VTCT qualification?

VTCT qualifications are designed for progression to higher level qualifications or to make learners ready for employment. The diagram below shows an example of the levels you would need for various employment opportunities in the beauty therapy industry.


What do the qualification credits mean?

Qualifications that are on the QCF have a credit value. This indicates the size of the qualifications and how long it typically takes to achieve. The size of a QCF qualification is shown by its credit value. There are three size ranges of qualifications on the QCF: an award which has 1 to 12 credits, a certificate which has 13 to 36 credits and a diploma which has 37 credits or more. A credit represents 10 hours of learning. The size of other qualifications is indicated by the number of guided learning hours typically needed to complete a qualification.


What does GLH mean?
Guided Learning Hours (GLH) are defined as all times when a member of staff is present to give specific guidance towards the learning aim being studied on a programme. They include lectures, tutorials and supervised study in, or example, Open Learning Centres and learning workshops. It also includes time spent by staff assessing a learner's achievements, for example in the assessment of competence for National Vocational Qualifications (NVQ's).It does not include time spent by staff in the day-to-day marking of assignments and homework where the learner is not present, nor does it include hours where supervision is of a general nature and is not specific to the study of Learners.


What is the QCF?

The QCF (Qualifications Credit Framework) is a way of recognising skills and qualifications. It does this by awarding credit for units (small steps of learning) and enables learners to gain qualifications at their own pace along flexible routes.

The QCF has four main aims:

  1. To ensure a wider range of achievements can be recognised within a more inclusive qualifications framework
  2. To establish a qualifications system that is more responsive to individual and employer needs
  3. To establish a simpler qualifications framework that is easier for all users to understand
  4. To reduce the burden of bureaucracy in the accreditation and assessment of qualifications.