Performance Tables

VTCT has a number of qualifications included in the 2016 tables and is pleased to announce that even more have been added to the 2017 tables for both Key Stage 4 and 16-19-year-olds. A catalogue of these qualifications can be found here.

Highlights include:-

Key Stage 4

16-19 Technical Certificates at Level 2

16-19 Technical level qualifications at Level 3 

  • VTCT has three qualifications included in the Sport and Active Leisure category, including being the only awarding organisation to have an injury management qualification included (VTCT Level 3 Diploma in Preventing Injuries in Sport and Active Leisure (QCF))
  • VTCT has more qualifications included in the Hairdressing category than any other awarding organisation, including NVQs in Hairdressing and  Barbering
  • VTCT has more qualifications included in the Beauty category than any other awarding organisation.
  • VTCT has more qualifications included in the Cookery category than any other awarding organisation.
  • A new category has been introduced, Police Service and VTCT is the only awarding organisation offering a qualification in this category (VTCT Level 3 Diploma in Preparation for the Police Service (QCF))

(The above is subject to appeal).

What are Performance Tables?

Performance tables are comparative tables that report achievements in public examinations and vocational qualifications in secondary schools and further education sector colleges.

Key Stage 4 Performance Tables

Performance measures at Key Stage 4 are being reformed. The new accountability system will start from summer 2016 and results will be published for the first time in January 2017

From 2014, the secondary school performance tables will be restricted to qualifications that are high quality, rigorous and enable progression to a range of study and employment opportunities for the majority of pupils.

No qualification will count for more than one GCSE in the performance tables, irrespective of its size. For example, a BTEC previously counting for two or four GCSEs will now be capped at one. Points and threshold contributions have been scaled down accordingly and these will be made available on the Ofqual Register of Regulated Qualifications

The VTCT Level 2 Certificate in Hairdressing and Beauty Therapy (VRQ) has been benchmarked against GCSE performance points as shown in the table below.

Performance Points GCSE Grade VTCT Level 2 Certificate in Hairdressing and Beauty Therapy (VRQ)
58 A* Distinction*
52 A Distinction
46 B Merit
40 C Pass
34 D  
28 E  
22 F  
16 G  


Performance points changing to progress 8 and attainment 8

Performance points are no longer being used; Progress 8 and Attainment 8 are being introduced.

Progress 8 and Attainment 8 will be based upon pupils’ performance across 8 subjects:

  • An English element based on the highest point score in pupil’s (English Baccalaureate) English language or English literature qualification. This will be double weighted provided a pupil has taken both qualifications. In 2016, combined English qualification can be included and double weighted.
  • A double weighted maths element that will contain the point score of the pupil’s English Baccalaureate maths qualification.
  • Three slots reserved for English Baccalaureate subjects (sciences, computer science, geography, history and languages).

Three slots that can be taken up by further qualifications from the range of English Baccalaureate subjects, or any other high value arts, academic, or vocational qualification approved for inclusion in the performance tables.

Key Stage 5 Performance Tables

From 2016, the 16-19 performance tables will report Tech Level and Applied General qualifications separately.

Clearer and more comprehensive performance information about schools and colleges will be published. The aim is to include a wider range of information on 16-18 year old students’ attainment and progression. These performance measures include a set of headline measures.

Headline measures for 16-19 will give a clear overview of the performance of a school or college in academic and vocational programmes compared with other institutions nationally. The headline measures are progress, attainment, retention, destinations and progress in English and Maths (for learners who complete KS4 without GCSE pass at A*-C in these subjects).

What are technical, general applied and substantial vocational qualifications?

Substantial Vocational Qualifications (SVQs) – these are Level 2 intermediate for post 16 learners wishing to specialise in a specific sector or occupation. They provide learners with the specialised knowledge and skills, where employers recognise entry at level 2 or where learners wishing to progress to a Tech level require a level 2 qualification. In some cases, the qualifications provide a ‘licence to practise’ or exemption from professional exams.

Technical level qualifications – these are Level 3 advanced technical qualifications for post 16 learners who wish to specialise in a specific sector or occupation. They are recognised by employers and on a par with A Levels. Technical level qualifications provide entry to apprenticeship or employment, or progression to a higher level qualification. Some Tech level qualifications provide a ‘licence to practise’ or exemption from professional exams.

Applied General qualifications – these are Level 3 qualifications for post-16 learners wanting to continue their education through applied learning at higher education.

Documents and Links 
Links to relevant government   documents
Welsh Performance Points 2018
VTCT Performance Table Qualifications
VTCT 2017 Performance Table Qualifications
Example Foundation Level Unit - UHB8
Example Foundation Level Unit - UBT12
Entry Level 3 - Foundation Learning Tier Structure
Level 1 - Foundation Learning Tier Structure
Level 2 - Foundation Learning Tier Structure
VTCT Foundation Skills Package Prices