Centre Login

T-Level UCAS points values announced

When the first of the new T-Levels come into force next year, they will offer learners the same higher education opportunities as the current A-levels.

The Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS) has announced that students receiving a starred distinction in their T-Level qualification will receive 168 UCAS points – the equivalent of three A*s at A-Level.

T-Levels will be the technical equivalent of the more academic A-level route and will cover vocational subjects such as Hair and Beauty, Construction and Digital. They will be two-year courses, designed to help young people in to the workplace in key UK industries.

They offer classroom study but also the opportunity for learners to gain real on the job experience with work placements.

Now UCAS have confirmed the points value of T-Levels, learners who are currently making decisions about what to study after their GCSEs can now be confident that university education will be an option for them if they decide to follow a more vocational route.


How UCAS points will be allocated to T-Levels


UCAS tariff points T Level overall grade A level
168 Distinction* (A* on the core and distinction in the occupational specialism) AAA*
144 Distinction AAA
120 Merit BBB
96 Pass (C or above on the core) CCC
72 Pass (D or E on the core) DDD

Source: Department for Education

Related Articles: A-levels and vocational qualifications routes to higher education